WEBINAR

Formulating a New Approach to Pharmacokinetics and Cell State Control

June 22, 2021 |10AM EDT | 3PM BST | 4PM CEST
WebinarsBY-TN-White

 

 

 

Most in vitro, well-plate biological experiments require a media change every day or two, with cyclic variations in nutrient and metabolite concentrations leading to physiologically unrealistic gene expression and metabolism.


 Read More Below

Brought to you by:

cn-bio-logo_300

Register Today!

Webinar Summary

Most in vitro, well-plate biological experiments require a media change every day or two, with cyclic variations in nutrient and metabolite concentrations leading to physiologically unrealistic gene expression and metabolism. Typical step-changes in drug concentrations do not reflect in vivo pharmacokinetic (PK) exposure profiles, which can lead to inaccurate ranking of oncological drug effectiveness. State-of-the-art microfluidic pumps and valves enable the creation of Multi-Well Microformulators that impose on each well a different physiological PK profile, circadian rhythm, or temporal changes of growth factors and signalling molecules. This technology enables dynamic exposure response studies, optimization of stem-cell differentiation, and thousand-channel microchemostats.

Attend this webinar to: 

  • Understand the biological implications of sequential batch feeding of cells in conventional in vitro experiments.
  • Appreciate how microfluidic systems can create a different time-dependent formulation of multiple drugs or other compounds to each well of a multi-well plate.
  • Recognize the opportunity that continuous, controlled media exchange offers for the culture and study of adherent and suspension cells, organoids, and organs-on-chips.

Speaker Information:

WebinarSpeakerImage-May-21-2021-10-45-40-07-AM
 
Professor John Wikswo
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, and Physics
Vanderbilt University