WEBINAR

How Cells Know They’re Infected with SARS-CoV-2 and How The Subsequent Response To This Results in COVID-19

July 27, 2020 | 8am PDT | 11am EDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST
WebinarsBY-TN-White

Almost every cell of the 30 trillion that comprise the human body has the capacity to recognize when they are infected with a virus. Read More Below

Book your space

Already registered?
Access the webinar here »

Webinar Summary

Almost every cell of the 30 trillion that comprise the human body has the capacity to recognize when they are infected with a virus.

Once aware of this threat, the infected cell has two main responsibilities. First, the cell must launch a call to arms.

This task requires the secretion of a signal (interferon) that informs the surrounding cells of the imminent threat and instructing them to fortify their defences.

The second responsibility is to launch a call for reinforcements. This task also requires a secreted signal (chemokines) that recruits more sophisticated immune cells to the site of infection.

Attendees will learn how

  • Host cells detect the presence of SARS-CoV-2
  • The host immune response dynamics play out in response to      SARS-CoV-2
  • SARS-CoV-2 blocks only aspects of the host cellular response
  • Interactions between the virus and host ultimately result in      COVID-19

Speaker Information:

WebinarSpeakerImage-(002)-5
Benjamin tenOever, Ph.D.
Fishberg Professor of Medicine, Director, Virus Engineering Center for Therapeutics and Research (VECToR)
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai



Sponsored by

FinalLogoCovid

Interested in sponsoring this webinar?
Click here to contact our friendly sales team.