Webinar

Lassa Fever: A UK Outbreak in 2022

November 29, 2022 | 8am PST | 11am EST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

News headlines worldwide throughout 2022 have been dominated by COVID-19 and monkeypox, yet other virus outbreaks are also occurring.

On February 9, 2022, the WHO was notified by the United Kingdom health authorities of two laboratory-confirmed cases of Lassa fever, and alarmingly the case numbers continued to grow.

Lassa fever is an acute viral hemorrhagic illness, with symptoms similar to those of Ebola virus disease. Humans usually become infected with Lassa virus from exposure to urine and feces of infected Mastomys rats which are native to West Africa.

In this webinar, Dr. Catherine Houlihan, will describe an unrecognized case of viral hemorrhagic fever imported into the UK and the important lessons learned for the emergency clinicians, GPs, virologists, infection specialists and public health doctors.

Watch this webinar to:
  • Explore the science behind Lassa fever
  • Discover the lessons learned for virologists, emergency clinicians and public health doctors
  • Learn about the clinical management of Lassa fever patients

Speaker Information:

Dr Catherine Houlihan round png

Dr. Catherine Houlihan

Consultant in Infection and Virology

UCLH

 

 

Interested in sponsoring this webinar? Contact our friendly sales team here

Watch this webinar to:
  • Explore the science behind Lassa fever
  • Discover the lessons learned for virologists, emergency clinicians and public health doctors
  • Learn about the clinical management of Lassa Fever patients

Register Now!

Information you provide will be held in confidence and will be shared with the sponsoring vendor(s) of this webinar. We may use the information to contact you about your account and let you know about the related programs and products. You may opt-out at any time. This allows Technology Networks to keep these webinars free of charge for our readers.