Webinar

New Sample Preparation Strategies for Mass Spectrometry Imaging of Clinical Samples

December 9, 2021 | 11am EST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

Mass spectrometry imaging (MSI) of clinical samples can be daunting due to the presence of high abundance, uninteresting molecules in the tissues or due to the way that the samples are processed and preserved. For example, the presence of hemoglobin from red blood cells can suppress the signal from other, lower abundance proteins that may be more relevant to the disease being studied.

A second challenge is that most clinical tissue samples are banked as formalin fixed, paraffin embedded tissue specimens, which present difficulties for the detection and imaging of biomolecules.

In this webinar, we will present new sample preparation strategies for overcoming these issues and producing high quality MSI data.

Attend this webinar for:
  • A basic introduction to MSI
  • An overview of challenges related to MSI of clinical samples
  • Instructions for sample preparation techniques for reduction of hemoglobin and for imaging metabolites from formalin fixed, paraffin embedded tissue sections
  • Insights on the applications of new sample preparation strategies for clinical samples

Speaker Information:

WebinarSpeakerImage-Nov-04-2021-09-21-19-13-AM

Erin H. Seeley, PhD

Mass Spectrometry Imaging Facility Director
University of Texas at Austin

 

 

For Research Use Only. Not for use in clinical diagnostic procedures.

 

 


Attend this webinar to learn more about:
  • A basic introduction to MSI
  • An overview of challenges related to MSI of clinical samples
  • Instructions for sample preparation techniques for reduction of hemoglobin and for imaging metabolites from formalin fixed, paraffin embedded tissue sections
  • Insights on the applications of new sample preparation strategies for clinical samples

Register for FREE Now!