WEBINAR

A Microphysiological Model of Metastatic Progression

November 3, 2020 | 10am EST, 3pm GMT & 4PM CET
WebinarsBY-TN-White

 

 

 

 

Metastatic disease is the leading cause of mortality in patients with solid tumours. Despite decades of research, we only partially understand the underlying cellular and molecular mechanisms.


 Read More Below

Brought to you by

cn-bio-logo_300

Register today!

Webinar Summary

Metastatic disease is the leading cause of mortality in patients with solid tumors. Despite decades of research, we only partially understand the underlying cellular and molecular mechanisms.

This gap in knowledge represents a significant barrier for the prevention and treatment of metastasis. In part, a lack of relevant accessible model systems capable of capturing the complexities of metastatic disease progression has hindered our progress. As a result, researchers are turning towards tissue engineered ex vivo biomimetic microphysiological systems.

In this webinar, we discuss how to use these systems to model metastatic progression, evaluate therapeutics and improve our understanding of the bidirectional crosstalk that occurs between host tissue cells and the metastatic cancer cells.

Attend this webinar to learn about: 

  • How to model dormant-emergent metastatic progression
  • The impact of scaffolding materials on the metastatic niche and therapeutic efficacy
  • The impact of Organ-on-a-Chip technologies on our understanding of:
    - bidirectional crosstalk between parenchymal cells
    - metastatic tumor cells 

Speaker Information:


WebinarSpeakerImage

Dr Amanda Clark 

Research Assistant Professor 
University of Pittsburgh