WEBINAR

Nanopore Sequencing: The Mobile Methylome

November 19 2020, 8am PST | 11am EST | 4pm GMT
WebinarsBY-TN-White

 

 

 

Transposable elements are mobile segments of DNA that comprise about half of the human genome and contain a subset of active elements that continue to expand in copy number.

Read More Below

Brought to you by

oxford

Register Now

Webinar Summary

Transposable elements are mobile segments of DNA that comprise about half of the human genome and contain a subset of active elements that continue to expand in copy number.

While there has been considerable progress in understanding the regulation of these elements in general, relatively little is known about the regulation of specific individual elements due to difficulties inherent in confidently mapping short reads to repetitive DNA.

In this webinar Dr. Ewing will describe how long reads, combined with the ability to infer methylated CpG bases, greatly facilitates the study of transposable element genomics in particular and the methylome in general.

This webinar will:

  • Show the impact of transposable elements on the genome as an endogenous mutagen
  • Outline how transposable elements are regulated
  • Demonstrate the benefits of nanopore sequencing for transposable element biology

Speaker Information:

WebinarSpeakerImage-2
Adam Ewing
Group Leader, Translational Bioinformatics
Mater Research Institute
University of Queensland, Australia