WEBINAR

New, Rapid Sequencing Tools for Poliovirus Surveillance

June 24, 2021 | 10AM EDT | 3PM BST | 4PM CEST
WebinarsBY-TN-White

 

 

 

Swift and accurate characterization of poliovirus outbreaks is essential as we approach the global poliovirus eradication endgame. Current culture-based methods are sensitive but can be laborious.

Read More Below

Brought to you by:

oxford

Register Today!

Webinar Summary

Swift and accurate characterization of poliovirus outbreaks is essential as we approach the global poliovirus eradication endgame. Current culture-based methods are sensitive but can be laborious.

In this webinar, Dr Alex Shaw will highlight how nanopore sequencing-based methods for the detection of the virus in both stool and sewage can provide additional tools to rapidly identify poliovirus cases and discover silent transmission of the virus in populations. Alex will also discuss how highly portable nanopore sequencing devices could be used to bring the capacity for viral sequencing to laboratories in countries where poliovirus strains still circulate.

Attend this webinar to learn:

  • Why we still perform surveillance for poliovirus
  • How poliovirus is currently detected by routine surveillance
  • How direct nanopore sequencing can provide a rapid alternative to current methods

Speaker Information:

Headshot--WebinarSpeakerImage
Alex Shaw
Research Associate 
Vaccine Epidemiology Research Group
Imperial College London