WEBINAR

Can We Stimulate Brain Waves To Fight Alzheimer's Disease?

February 27th 2020, 3 PM GMT, 10 AM EST, 4 PM CET

At ASMS 2019, SCIEX made a technology announcement of Acoustic Ejection Mass Spectrometry (AEMS) which will shortly be commercialized as Echo® MS in early 2020.

This webinar will provide insights into the fundamentals of the technology and how it harnesses the two unique technologies, Acoustic Droplet Ejection (ADE) and the Open Port Interface (OPI), combined with the quantitative power of SCIEX mass spectrometry. Read More Below

Capture (1)

SAVE YOUR SEAT

Already registered?
Access the webinar here »

Webinar Summary

Gamma rhythms (30-80 Hz) are modulated during cognition, and impaired gamma rhythms have been associated with Alzheimer's disease (AD).

But do they play a causal role? New evidence shows that non-invasive sensory stimulation using 40 Hz rhythm power and synchrony in AD mouse models reduces AD-like pathology and enhances cognitive function.

Research is ongoing to understand the mechanisms underlying the beneficial effects of 40 Hz stimulation and to translate this intervention for human patients.

Attendees will learn about:

  • The emergence and role of gamma rhythms in the brain
  • Evidence of gamma impairment in Alzheimer’s disease (AD) models
  • Methods for Gamma Entrainment Using Sensory Stimuli (GENUS)
  • Pathology and symptomatic improvements in AD models resulting from GENUS
  • Proposed “signatures” of gamma Entrainment in the brain, including effects on gene expression and activity of neurons and non-neuronal cell types

Speaker Information:

Li-Huei
Dr. Li-Huei Tsai
Director, The Picower Institute for Learning and Memory
Massachusetts Institute of Technology