Webinar

The Human-Animal Genomic Bond

August 31, 2022 | 8am PDT | 11am EDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Since the dawn of domestication, humans have been shaping the traits of animals for the benefit of society by way of selective breeding. From selecting aesthetic and behavioral traits with dogs to improving growth efficiency and quality of meat and milk produced by livestock, the outcomes have impacted the evolution of society in a major way.

At the heart of selective breeding is the creation of unique combinations of genetics via human intervention of reproductive processes, in essence, the engineering of an animal’s genome. Although many positive outcomes have occurred from this human-animal genomic bond, phenotypic gains can be incremental, and negative traits are often unintentionally selected for.

The modern frontier of the human-animal genomic bond is applying the science of gene editing. At the forefront is the versatile and efficient CRISPR-Cas9 system that capitalizes on natural machinery within animal cells to alter the genome. Join us to explore how this next-generation tool can create precise genetic enhancements within DNA, and how editing the genome of animals is likely to impact the future of human society.

Watch this webinar to:
  • Discover the impact of humans on shaping the traits in animals via genetic engineering
  • Learn how editing can be incorporated into livestock breeding schemes
  • Explore how to address some of the associated technical and regulatory challenges surrounding CRISPR

Speaker Information:

Jon Oatley Round PNG

Dr Jon M. Oatley

Associate Dean for Research Professor, School of Molecular Biosciences Director, Functional Genomics Initiative College of Veterinary Medicine

Washington State University

 

 

Interested in sponsoring this webinar? Contact our friendly sales team here

Watch this webinar to:
  • Discover the impact of humans on shaping the traits in animals via genetic engineering
  • Discover how editing can be incorporated into livestock breeding schemes
  • Explore how to address some of the associated technical and regulatory challenges surrounding CRISPR

 Register for FREE Now!

Information you provide will be held in confidence and will be shared with the sponsoring vendor(s) of this webinar. We may use the information to contact you about your account and let you know about the related programs and products. You may opt-out at any time. This allows Technology Networks to keep these webinars free of charge for our readers.